Life Without Six

Life without the "Top 6 Allergens" can be difficult. T offers recipes, product and restaurant reviews as well as shopping guides to take some of the bite out of grabbing a bite on a restrictive diet.

Mailbag: No-Beef Meatloaf

photo 1 (6)R: “I have a number of the same allergies as T but I have anaphylaxis to beef as well.  My husband loves his red meat and I was hoping you two might  be able to figure out some beef-free recipes that might satisfy my husband and I.”

D: My first thought for your quandary is ostrich and game meats.  Ostrich is likely a safer option than venison which could have similar results to beef, with regard to the anaphylaxis.  If you find ostrich, it has a very beef-like flavor despite being a bird.  The drawback is price and availability.  I’ve also only had this as chopped meat and not as a steak.

Six Free and Beef Free Meatloaf

Ingredients:

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.  Combine the meat, bread crumbs and egg replacer in a large bowl.  I skipped adding the water for the egg replacer and mixed the meat by hand.  Fit the meat into a loaf pan and evenly add a layer of BBQ sauce.  Cover with aluminum foil.  Cook the loaf for 30-40 minutes, check the meat with a thermometer before removing.  We added hot sauce to add something extra when served.

T’s Review: I love meatloaf!  This was very good but could have been better.  Next time I think we’ll add some chopped carrots or onion to the mix.

D’s Review: I was worried when cooking this that without real egg, the loaf wouldn’t hold together.  This was not true.  Turkey meatloaf is not beef, but it’s certainly got its own appeal.  I think adding chopped carrots, onion, green onion or garlic would take this up a level.  Worth experimenting with again

2 comments on “Mailbag: No-Beef Meatloaf

  1. Rachel Starchman
    January 7, 2014

    Sweet!!!!!! I can’t wait to make this! Thanks guys! I am going to track down some ostrich!!

    • David.Groveman
      January 8, 2014

      Reminder: Venison steak and chops are great, but I might consult an allergist in terms of how close they are to beef.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 7, 2014 by in Comfort Food, Continental Cuisine, Easy recipe, Mailbag, Recipes, Turkey.
Follow Life Without Six on WordPress.com

Follow LWS on Twitter

